By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
DCHS SGA Visits the Capitol
SGA members pictured on the steps inside the Capitol are: Advisors: Britney Gulley, Lauren Ferrell and Donna Emmons. Students: Andrew Dakas, Milas Driver, Leah Johnson, Mara Oakley, Daniel Stiffler, Kathryn Hale, Brynn Harvey, Peyton Norris, Caroline Tobitt, Allison Gay, Stephanie Godinez, Jacklyn Kleparek, Aleaha Miller, Ailish Munoz, Alyssa Pugh, Adan Ramirez, Raven Savage, Brayden Shehane, Jasmine Bilbrey, Haylee Merriman, Dylan Trapp, Brayden Tubbs and Hagen Waggoner.

DeKalb County state representatives recently hosted the DeKalb County High School Student Government Association (SGA) at the Tennessee State Capitol in Nashville. Sen. Mark Pody, Sen. Janice Bowling, Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver and Rep. Clark Boyd were all on hand to escort students and advisors to observe sessions in both the senate and house chambers where the student group was recognized from the floor by both houses.

The hosts then took time to answer individual questions and explain some of the current bills being discussed in the sessions.  Afterwards, the group was given a guided tour of the capitol and grounds and received a generous gift bag compliments of Sen. Pody’s office.

SGA is a student organization at DCHS made up of class officers and students interested in developing leadership skills.