By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Farm Service Agency County Committee Elections Underway
Donnie Green

Donny Green, County Executive Director of the DeKalb/Cannon County Farm Service Agency, announces that the 2022 FSA County Committee elections are underway as ballots were mailed to eligible voters in Local Administrative Area (LAA) # 3 (DeKalb County) on November 7.

December 5, 2022 will be the last day to postmark voted ballots returned by mail, or to deliver voted ballots to the local FSA office.  

The following candidates were nominated, and determined eligible, as candidates in the 2022 LAA # 3 election:

Bart Lay:  Mr. Lay resides in the Keltonburg Community where he owns and operates a beef cattle farm. Bart recently retired as Agency Manager for DeKalb County Farm Bureau and currently owns a land surveying business.

Shawn Puckett: Mr. Puckett resides in the Four Seasons Community where he owns and operates a beef cattle farm. Shawn is employed with the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC) and is a member of the Board of Directors at the DeKalb County Farm Bureau. 

Write-in nominations can be accepted on ballots. However, the write-in nominee must meet eligibility criteria and attest to his or her willingness to serve, if elected, by signing a nominating petition. Agricultural producers were encouraged to submit candidate names during the nomination period that ended August 1, 2022.        

“The FSA county committee system is unique among government agencies, because it allows producers to make important decisions concerning the local administration of federal farm programs. All eligible farmers and ranchers, especially minorities and women, are encouraged to get involved and make a real difference in their communities by voting in this year's elections,” says Green.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in FSA programs.  A person who is not of legal voting age but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm can also vote. 

Eligible voters in DeKalb County LAA # 3 who did not receive a ballot can obtain a ballot at their local USDA Service Center.  December 5, 2022 is the last day for voters to submit ballots in person to local USDA Service Centers.  Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than December 5, 2022.  The DeKalb/Cannon FSA County Committee will meet on December 13, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. to canvass and tabulate the ballots. This meeting will be held at the Smithville USDA Service Center and is open to the public. The newly elected committee member and alternates take office January 1, 2023.