By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Aldermen sworn in
miller swrng w sm
Josh Miller being sworn - photo by Photo by Reed Vanderpool
Three Smithville aldermen were sworn into office by city attorney Vester Parsley, Jr. at Monday night's regular city meeting of the city council.Josh Miller, Shawn Jacobs, and Danny Washer took the oath of office.Mayor Jimmy Poss presided over various appointments to local boards after the swearing in.Norris Colvert was reappointed to a new six-year term on the city planning commission as a citizen member.John Robert Nixon’s appointment to to a four-year term on the Smithville Electric System board of directors as a citizen member was renewed.Faron Hendrix was reappointed as a citizen member to a new five-year term on the city beer board.The aldermen approved the appointments:Poss also appointed aldermen as commissioners of the following city departments.•Tim Stribling: Vice Mayor and Water and Sewer Commissioner;•Josh Miller: Sanitation Commissioner;•Shawn Jacobs: Streets and Safety Commissioner;•Jason Murphy: Finance and Taxation Commissioner; and•Danny Washer: Police and Fire Department Commissioner;The aldermen approved those appointments as well.The city council now consists of Miller, Jacobs, and Washer, who will serve three-year terms, and Tim Stribling and Jason Murphy, whose terms will expire next year.Poss’ term as mayor expires next year as well.Meanwhile, the board of aldermen adopted an ordinance to reduce city council meetings to once a month, on the first Monday at 6 p.m., on first reading.Meetings now take place twice a month on the first and third Monday nights at 7 p.m.Second and final reading of the proposal will be held after a public hearing at city hall on July 15 at 7 p.m.