By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Aldermen sworn into office
Jacobs, Washer, Hendrix take oath
HENDRIX - photo by Photo by Angie Meadows
City attorney Vester Parsley administered the oath of office to the three recently elected aldermen during a special council meeting Thursday evening at Smithville City Hall.The city council’s two new faces, Gayla Hendrix and Danny Washer, were sworn in, as well as returning alderman Shawn Jacobs, who was re-elected to a second term on June 21.After the new council members took the oath, Mayor Taft Hendrixson passed down appointments to each of the aldermen as commissioner of a city department.Steve White was named Vice Mayor and Commissioner of Water and Sewer.Shawn Jacobs is now the Commissioner of the Police and Fire Departments.Gayla Hendrix is the new Commissioner of Finance and Taxation.Cecil Burger was named Commissioner of Streets and Safety.Danny Washer was appointed Commissioner of the Sanitation Department.Hendrixson also appointed citizen representatives and aldermen to serve on various city boards.Alderman Shawn Jacobs and citizen member Hoyte Barrett were re-appointed to the city planning commission.Citizen member Walter Burton was re-appointed to the Smithville Electric System Board.Citizen members Lloyd Black and Steve Hays were re-appointed to the city beer board.Danny washer was appointed, and citizen members Sandra Wall and Janie Knowles were re-appointed to the city board of zoning appeals.The city council is now made up of Mayor Taft Hendrixson and Aldermen Danny Washer, Gayla Hendrix, Shawn Jacobs, Steve White, and Cecil Burger.The mayor and aldermen meet at City Hall on the first and third Monday nights of each month at 7:00 p.m.The next regular meeting will be Monday, July 18, as the board will not convene on July 4.