By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Chamber names new officers
ch ex brd w sm
The new chamber executive board consists of Susan Young, treasurer; Julia Cantrell, president; Jeff Crips, vice-president; Joan Barrett, secretary
The Smithville-DeKalb County Chamber of Commerce Board elected their 2014 executive officers during the January Chamber Board Meeting and Retreat.Julia Cantrell of Cumberland Insurance will serve as the 2014 chamber president. Jeff Crips of Regions Bank is the new vice-president, and Susan Young of Middle Tennessee Natural Gas is the new treasurer. Joan Barrett of Premier Realty at Center Hill Lake will serve as the board secretary.Five new chamber board members have begun their three-year terms; Dwayne Cornelius, DeKalb Depot and pastor of New Life Pentecostal Church; Elaine Swicker, Smithville Computer Repair; Gail Looper, Off the Beaten Path group; Joan Barrett of Premier Realty at Center Hill Lake; and Jason Murphy, Optimus Pest Solutions.Other chamber board members serving in 2014 include Shea Colwell, NHC Healthcare; Craig Gates, DTC Communications; Charlotte Parsley, SHIROKI North America; Sue Conley, DeKalb Community Hospital; Raul Ramirez, Federal Mogul; Sherry Harris, D&S Specialtees; and Stein Prichard, Prichard Foods.Chamber Director Suzanne Williams said she is very excited about working with this wonderful group of people and is looking forward to a great 2014.The chamber director and board would like to express appreciation to Leadership DeKalb Director Jen Sherwood for facilitating the January Board Retreat, to DeKalb Community Hospital for sponsoring the January Meeting/Retreat and to NHC Healthcare, sponsor of the regular monthly chamber board meetings, for providing a great meeting space and delicious lunches.