By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Chamber recognizes outstanding members
banquet fr w sm
Jen Sherwood presented Ivadell Randolph and Darrell and Beth Gill with Community Leader and Legacy awards at last weeks chamber banquet. - photo by Photo by Reed Vanderpool
The annual Chamber of Commerce Banquet was held last Tuesday at the DeKalb County Complex.Darrell and Beth Gill received the Community Leaders of the Year Award, while Ivadell Randolph was awarded the Legacy Award. Golden Milestone Awards were given to WJLE Radio and Cantrell's the home of Fluty’s to mark the 50 years both businesses have been active.The Community Leader of the Year award goes to someone who has made a significant and positive impact on the county in a capacity beyond commitment to his or her profession.The Legacy Award is awarded to the person or persons who have made a significant and positive impact on DeKalb County over a considerable period of time and in multiple or lasting ways.Tennessee Commissioner of Tourist Development Susan Whitaker spoke about the economic impact tourism has in thestate. Whitaker is a Chicago native, and a direct descendent of Tennessee's first Governor, John Sevier.Retiring board members Tony Luna, Lori Manns, Kathy Hendrixson, Valerie House and past president Kathy McGlamery were recognized for their service.New members include Elaine Swicker, Joan Barrett, Dwayne Cornelius, Gail Looper, and Jason Murphy.The 2014 officers are President Julia Cantrell, Vice President Jeff Crips, Secretary Joan Barrett, and Treasurer Susan Young.