By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
City officials take oath
city swearing 009 0001


Recently elected city officials took the oath of office Tuesday evening. Smithville Mayor Jimmy Poss and Aldermen Jason Murphy and Gayla Hendrix were sworn in By Vester Parsley at 3 p.m. at city hall.


Poss defeated challenger Wallace Caldwell 583 votes to 388 in the Aug. 7 election to claim his second term in the seat. Murphy ran unopposed to win his second term as alderman and Hendrix, also unopposed, will return to the city council to replace Tim Stribling, who was elected county mayor.


Murphy garnered 605 complimentary votes, Hendrix 584. The mayor and aldermen serve four-year terms. The remaining aldermen are Shawn Jacobs, Danny Washer, and Josh Miller.