By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
City says no to liquor
Romney takes DeKalb, Weaver retains state representative seat
sign vt yes w sm
The heated debate over whether to make package liquor available inside the city limits of Smithville was summed up by these signs, both for and against the measure. The signs are located directly across the drive of a local church from each other. - photo by Photo by: Reed Vanderpool
Smithville voters have spoken, and the answer is no to liquor by a narrow margin.The referendum on whether to allow package liquor sales inside the city limits was defeated yesterday, with 558 city voters casting ballots “To permit retail package stores to sell alcoholic beverages in the City of Smithville,” while 684 Smithvillians voted “Not to permit retail package stores to sell alcoholic beverages in the City of Smithville.”While the national presidential race is still too close to call at press time, DeKalb County voters chose the Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan ticket over incumbents Barack Obama/Joe Biden.Romney/Ryan unofficially garnered 4,124 votes locally for the win, while 2,164 DeKalb countians cast ballots for Obama/Biden.Romney/Ryan also took the state with 64.03 percent of the vote, logging 987,670 votes at press time, while 532,966 Tennesseeans chose Obama/Biden.Other candidates on the presidential ballot included Constitution Party candidates Virgil Goode/Jim Clymer, who earned 3,411 votes in Tennessee, while Green Party candidates Jill Stein/Cheri Honkala took 3,524 votes.Independent candidates Ross C. "Rocky" Anderson/Luis J. Rodriguez received 1,449 votes in the state, Gary Johnson/James P. Gray, also independents, tallied 9,549 votes statewide, and 1,039 ballots were cast in the state for the remaining two independent candidates, Merlin Miller/Virginia D. Abernethy.In the race for U.S. Senate, Republican nominee Bob Corker retained his seat with 67.68 percent of the vote, with 919,010 ballots total, 3,823 of which were cast in DeKalb County. Corker was first sworn in as senator on January 4, 2007.Democratic nominee Mark E. Clayton, who was virtually disowned by the Tennessee Democratic Party because of his views on subjects including abortion, took 28.11 percent of the vote, with 1,517 votes locally and 355,086 total.Constitution Party candidate for the senate Kermit Steck received 10,458 total votes.Green Party candidate Martin Pleasant took 123,041 in the state.Independent candidate Shaun E. Crowell received 11,681 total votes, independent David Gatchell took 3,375 total votes, and independent James Higdon received 4,420 total votes.Independent candidate Michel Joseph Long took 3,843 total votes, while another independent, Troy Stephen Scoggin took a total of 3,901 votes.In the race for 6th Congressional District U.S. House of Representatives, incumbent Republican nominee Diane Black retained her position with 135,617 votes statewide.Before becoming a state senator in 2004, Black served as a state representative for six years.Green Party nominee Pat Riley took 15,394 votes total, while independent candidate Scott Beasley received 25,397 total votes.The race for 40th District Tennessee House of Representatives saw Republican nominee Terri Lynn Weaver receive 2,734 votes in DeKalb and 11,587 total at press time on her way to re-election.Weaver was elected to the position in 2008 to fill the seat occupied for many years by Democrat Frank Buck.Democratic nominee Sarah Marie Smith answered Weavers winning effort with 1,505 local votes and 6,534 votes total.Second-term incumbent Mark A. Pody, Republican nominee for the 46th District Tennessee House of Representatives collected 12,254 total votes in his unopposed bid.DeKalb County saw 3,196 people cast ballots during the two-week early voting period prior to the election.All results are unofficial.