By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dems hold mass meeting
Stribling to seek county mayors office
dem group 14 w sm
Among the Democrats declaring their intention to run for local offices Saturday were, front row, from left, Margie Rigsby Miller for general sessions judge, James L "Jimmy" Poss for county clerk, Mike Clayborn for county clerk, Michael Agee for sheriff, Jimmy Sprague for road supervisor, Bratten H. (Butch) Cook, II for general sessions judge, Jeff McMillen for register of deeds, Betty Atnip for county commissioner, Jerry Hutchins, Jr. for county commissioner, Smithville Mayor Jimmy Poss Katherine Pack for circuit court clerk, Gayla Hendrix for Smithville alderman. Back row, from left, Rick Cantrell, Jerry Scott, Kevin Robinson and Anita Puckett for county commissioner, Tim Stribling for county mayor, Shane Walker for road supervisor, David McDowell for county commissioner, and Clarence Trapp for county commissioner. - photo by Photo by Angie Meadows
The DeKalb County Democratic Party Mass Meeting Saturday saw several more candidates throw their hats into the ring to run for office this year.Tim Stribling, currently a Smithville alderman, announced his intention to seek the office of county mayor in the May 6 Democratic primary.Incumbent Mike Foster, also a Democrat, has not yet indicated whether he will seek his fourth term in the seat.James L "Jimmy" Poss will face incumbent County Clerk Mike Clayborn in the primary. Clayborn will run for his fourth term in the office.Incumbent General Sessions Judge Bratten (Butch) Cook, II will seek his third term in the seat. Margie Rigsby Miller announced her intention to challenge him in the primary.Jimmy Sprague and Shane Walker declared that they will both vie for the nomination to the office of road supervisor.Incumbent Register of Deeds Jeff McMillen announced plans to seek his eighth term in the office.Circuit Court Clerk Katherine Pack, a three-term incumbent, will seek another term in the office.Michael Agee will run for the office of sheriff on the Democratic ticket.Jerry Hutchins, Jr. and Clarence Trapp are in the running for Second District county commission seats.Incumbents Jerry Scott and Bradley Hendrix will face former Second District commissioner Jack Barton in the race for Third District county commissioner.Barton recently resigned his Second District seat after moving his residence to the Third District.Incumbent David McDowell will run again for Fourth District commissioner.Incumbent Rick Cantrell and Anita Puckett will seek Fifth District commissioner’s seats.