By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting announced
vote star
Early voting hours for the June 18 Smithville Municipal Election have been announced.Early voting will be held from May 29-June 13 on the following days and hours:•Mondays: noon-5 p.m.;•Tuesdays: 9 a.m.-1 p.m.;•Wednesdays: 9 a.m.-1 p.m.;•Thursdays: 2 p.m.-6 p.m.;•Fridays: 9 a.m.-1 p.m.; and•Saturdays: 9 a.m.-noonThe deadline to register to vote in the city election is May 20.All early voting will be done on the first floor of the courthouse. Three aldermen are to be chosen.Candidates for the seats are three incumbents, Gayla Hendrix, Shawn Jacobs and Danny Washer, and three challengers, Aaron Meeks, Josh Miller and Anthony Scott.