By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting begins Oct. 17 in DeKalb
vote star
With early voting starting soon and the November election just around the corner, the DeKalb County Election Commission would like to remind voters that the last day to register to vote in person in time for the Nov. 6 election is Oct. 8.While that day is a legal holiday (Columbus Day), the local election office will be open from 8 a.m.-4 p.m.Because of the holiday, mail-in voter registrations must be postmarked no later than Oct. 6. The same deadlines apply for property rights registrationMeanwhile, early voting hours for the November Presidential Election have been set.As was the case for the August balloting, the election commission voted to have two afternoons of early voting in an effort to accommodate more voters.Hours for early voting, which begins Oct. 17, are Mondays from noon-5 p.m.; Tuesdays 9 a.m.-1 p.m.; Wednesdays 9 a.m.-1 p.m.; Thursdays from 2 p.m.-6 p.m.; Fridays from 9 a.m.-1 p.m.; and Saturdays 9 a.m.-noon.During the early voting period, which ends Nov. 1, there are two Mondays, three Thursdays and two Saturdays, giving voters who work late or work out of town ample opportunity to vote early.DeKalb County voters may cast ballots for President of the United States, a U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative of the 6th Congressional District, and State Representatives of the 40th and 46th districts.City of Smithville voters will also decide the outcome of a liquor referendum.In the Presidential race, the ballot includes:•Electors for Mitt Romney for President and Paul Ryan for Vice President (Republican Nominee);•Electors for Barack Obama for President and Joe Biden for Vice President (Democratic Nominee);•Electors for Virgil Goode for President and Jim Clymer for Vice President (Constitution Party Nominee);•Electors for Jill Stein for President and Cheri Honkala for Vice President (Green Party Nominee);•Electors for Ross C. "Rocky" Anderson for President and Luis J. Rodriguez for Vice President (Independent Candidate);•Electors for Gary Johnson for President and James P. Gray for Vice President (Independent Candidate):•Electors for Merlin Miller for President and Virginia D. Abernethy for Vice President (Independent Candidate).Candidates for the U.S. Senate are:•Bob Corker (Republican Nominee);•Mark E. Clayton (Democratic Nominee);•Kermit Steck (Constitution Party Nominee);•Martin Pleasant (Green Party Nominee);•Shaun E. Crowell ( Independent Candidate);•David Gatchell (Independent Candidate);•James Higdon (Independent Candidate);•Michel Joseph Long (Independent Candidate);•Troy Stephen Scoggin (Independent Candidate).On the ballot for U.S. House of Representatives (6th Congressional District) are:•Diane Black (Republican Nominee);•Pat Riley (Green Party Nominee);•Scott Beasley (Independent Candidate).Listed for Tennessee House of Representatives (40th District) will be:•Terri Lynn Weaver (Republican Nominee) and•Sarah Marie Smith (Democratic Nominee).The ballot for Tennessee House of Representatives (46th District) will include only Mark A. Pody (Republican Nominee).Also on the ballot on Nov. 6 will be a referendum for City of Smithville voters, which will offer two choices;•To permit retail package stores to sell alcoholic beverages in the City of Smithville, and•Not to permit retail package stores to sell alcoholic beverages in the City of Smithville.