By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election deadline draws near
vote w L
With the April 3 deadline looming, several candidates have picked up petitions to qualify for for the Smithville and Dowelltown Municipal Elections, as well as the five school board seats up for grabs this year.Voters in the City of Smithville will select a mayor and two aldermen in the Aug. 7 election, all for four-year terms.The seats are now occupied by Mayor Jimmy W. Poss and Aldermen Jason Murphy and Tim Stribling. Stribling is running for the County Mayor's office, and will not seek reelection as alderman.The election commission has issued petitions to Wallace Caldwell and Jimmy W. Poss for Smithville mayor, and Jason Murphy and Gayla Hendrix for alderman.Dowelltown voters will choose three aldermen on August 7. Brad Driver, Keith Farler, and Ronald Griffith have picked up petitions to qualify for those seats.The five school board seats held by John David Foutch in the First District, Charles Robinson in the Second District, Kenny Rhody in the Third District, Billy Miller in the Fourth District and Johnny Lattimore in the Seventh District will be elected in August as well.Picking up petitions for those seats already are Matthew Boss and Danny Parkerson in the First District, Charles Robinson and Jerry Wayne Johnson in the Second District, and Kenny Rhody, Jim Beshearse, and Jonathan Willoughby in then Third District.Billy Miller has picked up a petition for the Fourth District race, while Johnny Lattimore, Shaun Tubbs and Brandon Cox have picked them up for the Seventh District.Candidates for the Aug. 7 Republican or Democratic Primaries for state offices have until noon April 3 to qualify.The following candidates have filed petitions for state offices:State Representative-District 40: Terri Lynn Weaver (Republican).State Representative-District 46: Mark Pody (Republican).State Senator-District 17: Mae Beavers and Clark Boyd (Republicans).State Representative-District 40: Sarah Marie Smith (Democrat).State Representative-District 40: Krista Eickmann (Independent) Petition issued but not yet filed.Republican State Executive Committeeman-District 17: Albert McCall and Dwayne CraigheadRepublican State Executive Committeewoman-District 17: Jennifer Winfree and Pat Fields.