By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hendrixson, Poss vie for mayors seat
Taft hendrixson w sm
The qualifying deadline has passed, and two people have thrown their hats into the ring in the race for the Smithville mayor’s chair.Jimmy W. Poss, who is currently serving as a county commissioner in the 7th District, will challenge Taft Hendrixson for the office of mayor.A mayor and two aldermen will be elected on Tuesday, June 19, in Smithville.Former Smithville police officer Scott Davis has qualified to run for alderman, as have incumbent Alderman Stephen White, Jason Judd Murphy, and Tim Stribling.White was first elected to the office in 2000 and will be seeking his seventh term as alderman.Davis, Murphy, and Stribling are making their first runs for elected public office.Each term is for two years. The terms begin on July 1.Kevin D. Hale and W.J. (Dub) Evins III will vie for the 5th District school board seat.Doug Stephens will run unopposed for the 6th District position, as Boyd Trapp picked up a qualifying petition, but did not turn it in to the election commission.The school board elections will be held on Aug. 2.The last day to register to vote in the school board election is July 3.Meanwhile, Dowelltown Mayor Gerald Bailiff and Alderman Joe Bogle will seek another term.A mayor and two aldermen’s seats are open in the Dowelltown Municipal election, set for Aug. 2, but only two candidates names will be on the ballot.Bailiff and Bogle will be seeking re-election unopposed.Incumbent Alderman Elizabeth Redmon did not qualify to seek re-election. No one else qualified to run either.