By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
McMeans named Grand Champion Fiddler
ja bobo award w sm.jpg
Tory Huntley, third from left, took home the prestigious Neal Dudney Award at the 2011 Smithville Fiddlers Jamboree. The award was presented by members of Dudneys family. - photo by Photo by Reed Vanderpool
Will McMeans of Lester, Alabama is the 2011 Grand Champion Fiddler of the Smithville Fiddler's Jamboree.McMeans won the Berry C. Williams Memorial Award Saturday night after the Grand Finale Fiddle-Off between the best Junior and Senior Fiddler.McMeans insured his spot in the fiddle off by winning the Junior Fiddling competition, and he took the Grand Championship by beating Don Sadler of Cookeville, the winner of the Senior Fiddling contest.Chris Gray of Lawrenceburg took second place in the Junior Fiddlers division (Ages 13-39), and Austin Vick of Lyles, Tennessee was the third place winner.In the Junior Old-Time Appalachian Flatfoot Dance (Ages up to 39) category, Chris Stewart of Bon Aqua took first place, second place went to Justin Frazor of Woodbury, and Matthew Campbell of Murfreesboro went home with third-place honors.Tommy Scruggs of Hartsville was the first-place winner in Senior Old-Time Appalachian Flatfoot Dance (Ages 40 & Over). Second place was taken by Jeff Yates of Adams, Tennesse, and Third Place- Tommy Jackson of Franklin was the third-place contestant.In Senior Buck Dancing (Ages 40 & Over), first place was awarded to Lonnie Stewart of Fairview, second place went to Jeff Yates of Adams, and the third-place winner was Eileen Stewart of Nashville.Cara Digiovanni of Greenbrier took home the coveted James G. “Bobo” Driver award for the second year in a row at the Smithville Fiddler’s Jamboree Saturday, as well as being named the best fiddler in the National Championship for Country Musician Beginners.Digiovanni was awarded the Grand Champion fiddler Saturday and also won the coveted James G. "Bobo" Driver Memorial Award, named for the man who started the children's competition during the 1980's as part of the annual Fiddler's Jamboree and Crafts Festival.The award was presented by Bert, Milas, Sadie, Jim, Mickey, Allison, and Adam Driver, all members of the James Driver family.Kyle Ramey of North Vernon, Indiana received Entertainer of the Year honors at the 2011 event. The Entertainer of the Year award is presented to the best overall instrumental entertainer in the dobro, mandolin, banjo, and flat top guitar competition.Ramey was a winner in five divisions, taking first place in three categories.Joining DiGiovanni as Beginner’s Fiddle category winners were Ivy Phillips of Chapmansboro in second place and Kyle Ramey in third.Shelby Dunn of Fairview took first in buck dancing competition, Ivy Phillips of Chapmansboro was second, and third place went to Raygan Sellers of Goodlettesville.Sarah Fisher of Smyrna took first place honors in clogging, second place was taken by Amy Fisher, also of Smyrna, and third place went to Brayden Chunn of Greenbrier.The dobro champion for 2011 was Kyle Ramey, second went to Cara Digiovanni, and third place was awarded to Raygan Sellers.First place in the mandolin competition went to Ramey, Anna Clara Stockhoff of Brentwood took second, and third place was awarded to Ben Hester of Chapmansboro.Josiah Newman of Scottsville, Kentucky took top honors in the banjo competition, second went to Grayson Phillips of Chapmansboro, and Kyle Ramey took third.Ramey took first place in flat top guitar, second went to Cara Digiovanni, and Carson Wood of Pleasantville took third.The National Championship for Country Musician Beginners is a competition for children up to age twelve.Tori Huntley of Lorreto took the prestigious Neil Dudney Award at the Fiddler’s Jamboree in downtown Smithville Saturday, taking first place in Bluegrass Fiddle division.The award was presented by members of Mr. Dudney's family.Second place in the category went to Will McMeans of Lester, Alabama, and Chris Gray of Lawrenceburg took third place.Lonnie Stewart of Fairview was the first-place winner in the Senior Clogging competition (Ages 40 & Over), Second Place went to Eileen Stewart of Nashville, and Jeff Yates of Adams took third.Weston Stewart of Anderson, Alabama was the winner in the Bluegrass Banjo competition, second place went to Kurt Stephenson of Dyersburg, and third place- was earned by Buddy Robertson of Callahan, Florida.In the Bluegrass Band category, first place went to Cross Connection of Dyersburg, the second place winner was A Step Ahead of Greenbrier, and third place was taken by Straight Line Drive of Big Rock.Don Sadler of Cookeville took the Senior Fiddler ( Ages 40 & Over) award, second place went to Perry B.C Cooper of Knoxville, and third place- Delmer Holland of Waverly received third place honors.In Square Dancing competion, the Tennessee Toe Tappers of Pleasantville were first place winners, second place went to Harpeth River of Franklin, and Third Place was taken by Rocky Top Revue, also of Franklin.