By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
More than 3,000 enrolled in county schools
Up from 2,994 last year
clay farler.jpg
Clay Farler, Attendance Supervisor for the DeKalb County School System, annouced the enrollment numbers for the system at last Thursday night’s school board meeting.According to Farler, as of Aug. 11, the eighth day of the 2011-12 school year, a total of 3,062 students are currently enrolled in the DeKalb County system from pre-K to high school, and including the adult high school students.That number is up from 2,994 students enrolled as of the eighth day of school last year, Farler reported.DeKalb County High School has 850 students on the roll, DeKalb Middle School has 535, Northside Elementary has enrolled 623, Smithville Elementary has 605 pupils, and DeKalb West has 449 students registered as of Aug. 8.Director of Schools Mark Willoughby presented his monthly personnel report to the board at Thursday’s meeting as well.According to Willoughby, those employed by the school system since the last meeting are Carl Ray Cantrell, custodian at Smithville Elementary School, January Agee, new teacher at Northside Elementary School, Jamie Trebing replaced Michelle Fontanez as teacher at DCHS, Sherree Macemon, new special education teacher at DCHS, Nallely Ortega-Prater replaced Brittany Willoughby as a teacher at DCHS, Jennifer Lewis, English as a Second Language teacher at Northside Elementary ,Lindsey Barrett replaced Jane Parsley as a teacher at Smithville Elementary School, Amanda Vaughn replaced Fay Turner as a teacher at Smithville Elementary School, Joshua Gulley replaced Rebecca Purdue as a teacher at DCHS,Jared West replaced Ben Johnson as a special education teacher at DeKalb Middle School, and Justin Nokes replaced Lisa Cripps as a teacher at DeKalb Middle School.Rebecca Hawkins transferred from substitute to full time bus assistant and Lisa Cripps transferred from teacher at DeKalb Middle School to Secondary Instructional SupervisorMargaret Nichols, a teacher at Smithville Elementary School, was granted a leave of absence as requested.Resignations were accepted from Heather Blankenship, a special education assistant at Northside Elementary, Jean Neal, a bus assistant, Michelle Hoyle, a Pre-K educational assistant at Smithville Elementary, Frederick Sanders, a special education teacher at DCHS and Clay Bumbalough, a custodian at Smithville Elementary School.