By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
More than one-half million awarded in scholarships
scolarships W
Smithville Review/Reed Vanderpool DCHS 2015 Scolarship winners.
The DCHS class of 2015 took home more than $560,000 in scholarships during last week’s Senior Awards program. Charlie Young received the largest single scholarship award with $66,176 from Western Kentucky University. Others receiving scholarships recipients were: • Shara Adcock: UT Martin-Rodeo $22,096; UT Martin-Academic $6,000; American Quarter Horse Association-Horse of the Year $250; DeKalb Funeral Chapel $500; Class of 1966- $500; DeKalb County Farm Bureau Young Farmers and Ranchers Association- $500; DeKalb Firefighters- $500; DeKalb Soil Conservation District-$500; National High School Rodeo-$500 •Rayanna Baker: DeKalb Funeral Chapel $1,000 •Lance Ball: Tennessee Tech University $4,000; W. Doyle & Melford Smith Scholarship $3,000; Dual Enrollment Math-College Algebra/Pre-Calculus •Lane Ball: Tennessee Tech University $6,000 •Katherine Blair: UT Chattanooga $6,000; DeKalb County PTO $250; First Bank $500; •Luke Boss: DeKalb Fire Fighters $500; •Austin Brown: DeKalb County Farm Bureau Young Farmers and Ranchers Association $500; DeKalb Soil Conservation District $500; •Leah Burchfield: MTSU $12,000; FCCLA $125; Jolly Angels-2 year $2,000 •Michael Caplinger: Brandon Elder Scholarship 2 year $2,000; Dailey & Vincent Scholarship $2,000; UT Chattanooga $6,000; •Wendy Cassinera: Brandon Elder Scholarship 4 year $4,000; Scottish Rite $1,000; •Brandon Chapman: Smithville Rotary Vocational Award $100 •Franco Clavel: DCHS Honors English IV Award •Loren Cripps: A.F. Bridges $1,000; Alan Hooper Memorial $500 •Savannah Driver: UT Knoxville $24,000; Jolly Angels 1 year $1,000 •Austin Ellis: Tennessee College of Applied Technology $1,000; and DCHS English IV Award •Taylor Ellis: William Snodgrass Scholarship- Association of Government Accountants $2,000; Liberty State Bank $1,000 •Michael Ferguson: American Legion Boys State; •Corey Ferrell: U.S. Marines Scholar Award •Matthew Foutch: Tennessee Tech University $6,000; Clyde Thomas Family Trust Scholarship $1,000; Caney Fork Electric-2014 Essay Contest Washington Youth Tour Winner •Kelley Goodwin: DCHS Visual Art Award •Dustin Griffith: U.S. Navy Enlistment •Haley Hale: DeKalb Funeral Chapel $500 •Jacob Hale: DCHS English IV Award •Bailey Hayes: Tennessee Tech University $20,000 •Kelsey Hedge: Lipscomb University $44,000; Jolly Angels 2 year $2,000; Katherine Conger Memorial $500; DCHS Beta Scholarship $500; DCHS Literature Club $500; American Legion Auxiliary Girls State; •Rachel Holcomb: DeKalb Funeral Chapel $500; HOSA $100; DCHS Literature Club $500 •Nichole Hunt: Caney Fork Electric-2014 Essay Contest Second Place $100 •Chelsea Johnson: FCCLA $125; DCHS English IV Award •Brandon Leiser: U.S. Marines Athlete Award •Julia Little: Tennessee Tech University $20,000; General Assembly Merit Scholarship: $4,000; Jolly Angels 4 year $4,000; American Legion Auxiliary Girls State; Daughters of the American Revolution-Good Citizen Award •Destiney McCardell: Southern Landscape Supply Scholarship $500; HOSA $100; U.S. Marines Scholar Award •Ale Maciel: Martin Methodist College $44,000; HOSA $100; Leadership DeKalb $500 •Ana May: DCHS English IV Award •Michael May: U.S. Air Force Enlistment •Micah Merriman: Elzie & Nell McBride Memorial $500; Mentors Association Scholarship $5,000; Dailey & Vincent Scholarship $2,000; Smithville Rotary Club $750; U.S. Army Athlete Award; Presidents Volunteer Service Award •Kenzie Morris: Lucille Stewart Memorial $2,000 •Jonathan Munoz: Martin Methodist College $36,000 •Kalob O'Neal: DCHS Visual Art Award •Cason Oakley: Carson Newman University $40,000; American Legion Boys State •Jacquelyn Overby: DTC McAllen Foutch Memorial $8,000; U.S. Army Athlete Award •Nicholas Parsley: Southern Landscape Supply Scholarship: $500 •Aaron Patterson: Cumberland University Baseball Scholarship; Lucille Stewart Memorial $2,000; Anthony Duane Trapp Memorial $1,000; Love-Cantrell Funeral Home $500; •Shayla Pedigo: Tennessee Tech University $14,000; DCHS Visual Art Award •Bethany Poss: Motlow State Community College $2,000; Daily & Vincent Scholarship $2,000; Smithville Rotary Club $750; DeKalb Firefighters $500; DeKalb Funeral Chapel $500 •William Puckett: Clyde Thomas Family Trust Scholarship $1,000 •Makayla Redmon: Nell Haas Driver Scholarship $1,000 •Brooke Reffue: David Wayne Alexander Memorial: $1,500; DeKalb Retired Teachers $750; •Zachary Roberts: Mentors Association Scholarship $5,000; Eddie Crips Memorial $1,000; •Brooke Roller: HOSA $100; Caney Fork Electric- 2014 Essay Contest Fourth Place $50 •Makalee Ruch: UT Knoxville $24,000; Brandon Elder Scholarship 4 year $4,000; General Assembly Merit Scholarship $4,000; Smithville Rotary Math Award $100; Tennessee Governor's School for the Sciences; Woodman of the World $50 •Harlli Silcox: Tennessee Tech University $4,000; Kyle & Kenny Robinson Memorial $1,000; AmVets $250; AmVets Auxiliary $250 •Makayla Starnes: HOSA $100; •Emilee Stephens: Smithville Rotary Club $750; DeKalb Community Hospital $500 •Hunter Stone: Clay Edwards Memorial Tiger Pride Scholarship $500 •Charles Tramel: U.S. Marine Enlistment •Lydia Trail: Lee University Dean's Scholarship $28,000; Lee University Letitie Pate Whitehead Scholarship $2,500; Comcast $1,000; DCHS Beta Scholarship $500; Dual Enrollment Math- College Trigonometry/Pre-Calculus; Leadership DeKalb $500; U.S. Marines Athlete Award •Darrian Turner: Smithville Women's Club $250 •Amanda Vincent: U.S. Army Enlistment •Jacob Washer: David Wayne Alexander Memorial $1,500; Brandon Elder Scholarship 1 year $1,000; Kyle & Kenny Robinson Memorial $1,000; DeKalb Community Hospital in Honor of Dr. Melvin Blevins $500; Love-Cantrell Funeral Home $500 •Katie Willoughby: Sullivan University $3,750; Smithville Rotary Club $750; Caney Fork Electric-2014 Essay Contest Third Place $75 •Bruce Wilson: Tennessee Tech University $20,000; General Assembly Merit Scholarship $4,000; DCHS Honors English IV Award •Charlie Young: Western Kentucky $46,176; Western Kentucky $20,000; DCHS Honors English IV Award The 2015 DCHS Tennessee Scholars were also named during the program.