By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New Alexandria mayor appointed by council
Alexandria cityhall w sm

The Alexandria City Council appointed Alderman Tony Tarpley mayor at a special meeting Thursday.
Tarpley was sworn in by City Attorney Vester Parsley, Jr. to fill the seat left vacant by the recently-resigned Jim H. York, Jr. Alderman Addie Farley was named Vice Mayor.
York, who was elected mayor last month, resigned when he did not see eye-to-eye with the council three days after taking the office.
While the mayor and aldermen serve four-year terms, the Alexandria City Charter dictates that the appointed mayor serve until the next city election, set for 2015. City voters will choose three aldermen for four-year terms at that time as well.
The Alexandria City Council consists  of a mayor and six aldermen, but only half those seats are currently filled. Vice-Mayor Farley, Pat Jackson and Bennett Armstrong round out the council.
The aldermen reportedly plan to appoint members to fill the remaining offices.