By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Nineteen DCHS students receive HSTW awards
64100712 d73c4b20f5 o.gif
Nineteen members of the class of 2012 have received the High Schools That Work Award of Educational Achievement. HSTW is sponsored by the (SREB) Southern Regional Education Board.HSTW is the nation’s largest and fastest growing effort to combine challenging academic courses and modern vocational studies.Students qualify for the award by completing a college-preparatory course of study in at least two of the three subject areas (English/language arts, mathematics, or science); completing a concentration in a career/technical area, mathematics/science or the humanities; and meeting readiness goals in all three subject areas on the HSTW Assessment. Students who qualified for the award are Joseph Angaran, Whitney England, John Foster, Heather Hughes, Adam James, Jesse James, Danielle Knowles, Mason Merriman, Kalli Mitchell, Tevin Owens, Sebastian Phillips, Johnna Roller, Lindsay Snyder, Corey Spare, Victoria Tatrow, Erik Thompson, Krystal White, Breanna Williams and Alyssa Young.