By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Norris awarded Teacher of the Year
Ontiveros, Mabe, McMillen, Jones also honored at banquet
Jenny Norris w sm .jpg
Jenny Norris, a biology teacher at DeKalb County High School, was awarded teacher of the year honors at the fourth annual Teacher of the Year Banquet at DCHS last Thursday evening.In addition to the honor, Norris received a check for $150 from banquet sponsor Liberty State Bank.Director of Schools Mark Willoughby and Roy Nelson Pugh of Liberty State Bank presented the awards.Christina Ontiveros from Smithville Elementary School, Michelle Jones from DeKalb Middle School, Shelia McMillen from DeKalb West School, and Lisa Mabe from Northside Elementary School were also honored as teachers of the year at their respective schools.Ontiveros is a Pre-Kindergarten teacher at Smithville Elementary, McMillen is a second-grade teacher at DeKalb West, Jones teaches sixth-grade language arts at DeKalb Middle School, and Mabe is a second-grade teacher at Northside. Upperman High School Principal Herb Leftwich was guest speaker at the ceremony. The teachers of the year were intoduced by the principals of their school.