By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Puckett countywide teacher of the year
teachers w L
Shown are Smithville Elementary Principal Julie Vincent, SES Teacher of the Year LeVaughnda Midgett, DeKalb West Principal Danny Parkerson, DWS Teacher of the Year Tammy Payne, Director of Schools Mark Willoughby, Northside Elementary Principal Gayle Redmon, Northside Teacher of the Year Elizabeth Nolt, Roy Nelson Pugh of Liberty State Bank, DCHS Teacher of the Year Kathryn Wisinger, DCHS Principal Patrick Cripps, DeKalb County Teacher of the Year and DeKalb Middle School Teacher of the Year Anita Puckett, and Assistant DMS Principal Amanda Dakas. - photo by Photo by Reed Vanderpool
The DeKalb County Teacher of the Year for 2013-14 is Anita Puckett, an eighth-grade teacher at DeKalb Middle School.Puckett was awarded the customary school bell, and a check for $150 from Liberty State Bank, who sponsored the seventh annual Teacher of the Year Banquet at the Elizabeth Chapel Baptist Church monday night.Director of Schools Mark Willoughby and Roy Nelson Pugh of Liberty State Bank presented the awards.Puckett was one of five DeKalb County teachers chosen as Teacher of the Year at each of the five county schools. LeVaughnda Midgett, a kindergarten teacher at Smithville Elementary School; Tammy Payne, a sixth-grade teacher at DeKalb West School; Kathryn Wisinger, an ESL (english as a second language) teacher at DeKalb Middle and DCHS; Elizabeth Nolt, a fourth-grade teacher at Northside Elementary School.