By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Scholarships total more than $1 million
attend w sm
Cain Evans, shown with DCHS principal Patrick Cripps, received a perfect attendance award.
DeKalb County graduates took home nearly $1 million in scholarship money at the Class of 2013’s Senior Awards Day ceremony Thursday.Scholarships were awarded by colleges and universities, branches of the armed services, businesses, civic groups, and other organizations.One student alone was awarded more than $212,500 in scholarships.Erin Cantrell-Pryor, daughter of Lori and Edgar Pryor, received an $186,000 scholarship from Cornell University; $24,000 from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville; $1,000 from UT Knoxville Agricultural; the U.S Marines Scholar Award; $500 from the DeKalb Soil Conservation District; and $1,000 from Jolly Angels.The largest single award went to Eric Redmon, who received $117,832 for enlistment in the United States Army as a combat engineer.Cain Evans was awarded for perfect attendance during his time at DCHS.He also had perfect attendance during his time at DeKalb Middle School.Other scholarship recipients are:•Gage Brown received an $85,000 award for enlistment in the Navy•Tyler Vanhoose received an $80,000 award for enlistment in the Marine Corps.•Martelia Tallent: Carson-Newman: $63,564.•Elyse Litteer: Maryville College: $52,000.•Sonni Fullilove: Walters State Community College: $24,000.•Jessica Harbaugh: Tennessee Tech: $2,000, FCCLA: $250, Jolly Angels: $1,000•Krestin Evans: Tennessee Tech: $10,000, Jolly Angels: $1,000, Dailey & Vincent Scholarship: $2,000, Scottish Rite: $1,000.•Lauren Craig: Tennessee Tech: $4,000•P.J. Carroll: Tennessee Tech: $20,000, Liberty State Bank: $1,000.•Savannah Dexter: Tennessee Tech: $4,000, Jeff Garrett Memorial: $500.•Taylor Leach: Tennessee Tech: $10,000, Eddie Crips Memorial Scholarship: $1,000, Jolly Angels: $1,000, DCHS HOSA: $250•Zach Martin: Tennessee Tech: $10,000•Alex Hayes: Tennessee Tech: $10,000, DeKalb Funeral Chapel: $500.•Caleb Cantrell: Tennessee Tech: $4,000•Callie Gash: Tennessee Tech: $4,000, DeKalb Funeral Chapel:$500•Jacob Parsley: Tennessee Tech: $21,000, Clay Edwards Memorial Tiger Pride Scholarship: $500, Brandon Elder Scholarship: $4,000, Smithville Rotary Math Award: $100.•Dalton Vaughn: Tennessee Tech Nichols Freshman Art Scholarship: $1,200, Yates Company Scholarship: $4,000, Lucille Stewart Memorial: $2,000.•Kaylee Cantrell: Cumberland University, Smithville Rotary Club: $750.•Taylor Poston: Cumberland University: $24,000, Lucille Stewart Memorial: $2,000.•Cody Puckett: Columbia State: $5,200.•Hunter Graham: Columbia State: $5,200.•Haley Parchman: Tusculum $7,000, Smithville Business and Professional Women: $500.•Grace Webb: UT-Chattanooga: $12,000, DeKalb Community Hospital: $500, DCHS HOSA: $250.•Ben Driver: UT-Knoxville: $24,000•Chelsea Lewis: UT-Knoxville: $21,500, U.S. Army Athlete Award, DTC McAllen Foutch Memorial: $8,000, Kyle & Kenny Robinson Memorial: $1,000, Nell Haas Driver Scholarship: $1,000.•Lucas Phillips:U.S. Army Athlete Award, Amvets: $250, Amvets Auxiliary: $250, Kenny & Kyle Robinson Memorial: $1,000, Stetson University Hatter Scholarship: $16,000.•Abbey Caldwell: U.S. Marines Athlete Award.•Matt Boss: U.S. Marines Athlete Award DeKalb Firefighters: $500, DCHS Literature Club: $500.•Jake McClain Driver Scholarship: $1,000, Smithville Rotary Club: $750.•Sarah Cantrell: U.S. Marines Music Award.•Kayley Green: UT-Knoxville: $24,000, TN Association of FSA County Employees: $500, Comcast: $1,000, DeKalb Firefighters: $500.•Ben Pafford: Austin Peay University: $12,000.•Spencer Maynard: Berea College: $22,000.•Cohen Brown: Tennessee Gas Association: $3,000.•Annieka Norton: Agee Oil Company: $1,500, DeKalb Funeral Chapel:$500.•Katie Haggard: Allen Hooper Memorial: $500, DeKalb Retired Teachers: $750, David Wayne Alexander Memorial: $1,000, CIC Foundation, Smithville Business and Professional Women: $500.•Cassi Lester: Mentors Association Scholarship: $5,000.•Emily Davidson: Mentors Association Scholarship: $5,000.•Kelsey Hale: Anthony Duane Trapp Memorial: $1,000, Nell Haas Driver Scholarship: $1,000.•Gabriel Knowles: Class of 1966: $500.•Zach Vincent: Dailey & Vincent Scholarship: $2,000.•Cecilia Maciel: DCHS Beta Scholarship: $500, DCHS Student Council: $500.•Halea Brown: DeKalb County Children Service Council Clata Redman Memorial: $500.•Hunter Collins: DCHS HOSA: $250, Mentors Association Scholarship: $5,000.•Alex Hall: DeKalb Community Hospital: $500.•Ashlee Gunter: DeKalb Firefighters: $500.•Shawna Puckett: DeKalb Firefighters: $500, Ditcharo and Johnson Orthodontics: $1,000.•Christina Ferguson: DeKalb Funeral Chapel: $500.•Jessica Acuna: DeKalb PTO: $300.•Alyssa England: Elzie & Nell McBride Memorial:$500.•MyKaela Duke: First Bank: $500, Smithville Rotary Club: $750.•Samantha Leiser: Jolly Angels: $1,000.•Marissa Garmer: Leadership DeKalb: $750.•Martha Martin: Liberty State Bank: $1,000.•Evan Curtis: Love-Cantrell Funeral Home: $500.•Matt Colwell: Love-Cantrell Funeral Home: $500.•Emily Webb: Smithville Rotary Club: $750.•Brent Vickers: Smithville Rotary Vocational Award:$100.•Zoe Whaley: Smithville Women's Club: $300.