By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Stage set for August elections
Early voting to be held in July
With the local primaries in the books, the election focus turns to Aug. 7, when the Smithville and Dowelltown city elections, the DeKalb County General Election and the state Democratic and Republican Primaries will be held. Early voting will take place July 18-Aug. 2 on the first floor of the courthouseIn the Smithville Mayor’s race, Incumbent Jimmy W. Poss will face challenger Wallace Caldwell.Jason Murphy and Gayla Hendrix will be unopposed for the two available alderman seats in Smithville.Dowelltown residents will choose three aldermen, and incumbents Brad Driver, Keith Farler and Ronald Griffith will run unopposed.County voters will elect a general sessions judge, county mayor, sheriff, road supervisor, county clerk, circuit court clerk, register of deeds, trustee, 14 county commissioners, five school board members, and three constables.Five judges, a district attorney general and a district public defender will be chosen in the 13th Judicial District.Democrats and Republicans will cast ballots for party nominees for governor, U.S. senator, U.S. representative, state senator and state representative.Voters will also choose to retain or reject several state judges.Candidates on the ballot are as follows:•County Mayor: Tim Stribling (D), Chris Smithson (R), Chris Bratcher, II (I).•General Sessions Judge: Bratten Hale (Butch) Cook, II (D), Mingy Colwell Bryant (Republican)•Sheriff: Patrick Ray (R), Larry Flair (D).•Road Supervisor: Wallace (Butch) Agee (R) and James D. (Jimmy) Sprague (D)•County Clerk: James L. (Jimmy) Poss (D)•Circuit Court Clerk: Katherine Pack (D)•Register of Deeds: Jeff McMillen (D)•Trustee: Sean Driver (R)County Commission (two per district):•1st District: Mason Carter (R), and Elmer Ellis, Jr. (D), Bennett Armstrong (D).•2nd District: Bobby Joines (R), Joe N. Johnson (D), Clarence Trapp (D), James "Jimmy" E. Midgett (I).•3rd District: Jack Barton (D), Bradley Hendrix (D), and Wesley Nokes (I).•4th District: Wayne Cantrell (D) and Jonathan Norris (D)•5th District: Jerry Adcock (R), Rick Cantrell (D), and Anita Puckett (D).•6th District: Jeff Barnes (D), Betty Jean Atnip (D) Danny McGinnis (I).•7th District: Larry Summers (D), Kevin Robinson (D).Constable:•1st District: Chad Curtis (D) and Lee Plummer (R).•2nd District: Chris Tramel (R), Tony D. Lawson (I), Jonathan Low (I).•3rd District: Travis Bryant (I), Lou Ann Sanders (I).School board (non-partisan)•1st District: Matt Boss, Danny Parkerson•2nd District: Charles Robinson, Jerry Wayne Johnson.•3rd District: Jim Beshearse, Kenny Rhody, Jonathan Willoughby.•4th District: Billy Miller.•7th District: Johnny Lattimore, Brandon Cox, Shaun Tubbs.State Senator Mae Beavers of Mount Juliet will be challenged by Clark Boyd of Lebanon. The winner will run unopposed in November.State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver of Lancaster will be unopposed in the 40th District Republican primary, but will face Sarah Marie Smith of Carthage in the November general election.Candace Reed (D) of Lebanon will challenge 46th District State Representative Mark Pody of Lebanon in the general election.In the 6th district U.S. House of Representatives race, Republicans Diane Black of Gallatin and Jerry Lowery of Sparta will meet, while Democrat Amos Scott Powers of Doyle will run unopposed.In the governor’s race, Republicans Bill Haslam of Knoxville, Donald Ray McFolin of Nashville, Mark Coonrippy Brown of Gallatin and Basil Marceaux, Sr. of Soddy Daisy will vie for their party’s nomination, while Democrats Charles V. "Charlie" Brown of Oakdale, Kennedy Spellman Johnson of Murfreesboro, Ron Noonan of Sparta and William H. "John" McKamey of Piney Flats will compete.The race for U.S. senator will see Republicans Lamar Alexander of Walland, John D. King of Knoxville, Joe Carr of Lascassas, George Shea Flinn of Memphis, Fred R. Anderson of Maryville, Erin Kent Magee of Knoxville, Christian Agnew of Mt.