By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Stribling wins mayors race
Cook, Ray, Agee win seats
Butch Cook


Tim Stribling was elected the new mayor of DeKalb County Thursday. Stribling, a Democrat, received 2,575 votes, defeating Republican Chris Smithson (1,580 votes) and Independent Chris Bratcher (428 votes). Stribling carried 10 precincts, including Alexandria, Belk, Blue Springs, Church of Christ Annex, County Complex, Courthouse, Keltonburg, Church of God, Snow Hill, and Temperance Hall. Smithson carried six precincts, including Cherry Hill, Dowelltown, Edgar Evins State Park, Johnson's Chapel, Liberty, and Rock Castle.


Incumbent General Sessions and Juvenile Court Judge Bratten H. (Butch) Cook, II, a Democrat, defeated Republican challenger Mingy Colwell Bryant for his third eight-year term in the office. Cook recieved 2,531 votes, while 2,089 cast ballots for Bryant.


Cook carried eight precincts, including Alexandria, Church of Christ Annex, County Complex, Courthouse, Dowelltown, Edgar Evins State Park, Keltonburg, and the Church of God. Bryant carried eight precincts as well, including Belk, Blue Springs, Cherry Hill, Johnson's Chapel, Liberty, Rock Castle, Snow Hill, and Temperance Hall.


Sheriff Patrick Ray, a Republican, was elected to a third term in the sheriff's office. Ray bested Democratic challenger Larry Flair 3,304 votes to 1,475. The sheriff carried all 16 precincts.


Republican Wallace (Butch) Agee squeezed by Democrat James D. (Jimmy) Sprague for the county road supervisor's seat. Agee received 2,403 votes while Sprague took 2,215.Agee carried 10 precincts, including Alexandria, Cherry Hill, Dowelltown, Edgar Evins State Park, Johnson's Chapel, Keltonburg, Liberty, Rock Castle, the Church of God, and Temperance Hall. Sprague carried six precincts, including Belk, Blue Springs, the Church of Christ Annex, the County Complex, Courthouse, and Snow Hill.


Among the unnopposed candidates, Incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Katherine Pack took 3,828 votes; Incumbent Trustee Sean Driver received 3,698; County Clerk-elect James L. (Jimmy) Poss had 3,646; and Register of Deeds Jeff McMillen got 3,647 votes.


Meanwhile, six new members were elected to the county commission, with First district Incumbents Mason Carter and Elmer Ellis, Jr. returning to the commission. Carter, a Republican, had 386 votes to 253 for Ellis, a Democrat. Democrat Bennett H. Armstrong received 128 votes.


In the second district, two new members, Independent James (Jimmy) E. Midgett, and Democrat Joe N. Johnson were elected. Midgett led the ticket with 277 votes, and Johnson took 252 votes.


Democrat Clarence Trapp received 220 votes, and Republican Incumbent, Bobby Joines, who had withdrawn from the race because of his health, took 224 votes.


Democrat Jack E. Barton was elected to a Third district commission seat. Barton served in the second district before resigning his seat due to a change of address. Barton garnered 347 votes, while Democratic Incumbent Bradley Scott Hendrix was re-elected with 300 votes. Independent candidate Wesley Nokes received 215 votes.


In the fourth district, Democratic Incumbent Wayne Cantrell was re-elected with 476 votes, while Democrat Jonathon Norris took 373.


The Fifth District Incumbent, Rick Cantrell, a Democrat, lost his bid to Democrat Anita Puckett and Incumbent Republican Jerry D. Adcock. Cantrell was appointed last year to fill the unexpired term of John Green, who moved from the county. Adcock took 364 votes, Puckett received 354 votes, and Cantrell had 247.


Democratic Incumbent Jeff Barnes was re-elected in the sixth district with 337 votes, and Betty Jean Atnip, also a Democrat, won a seat with 337 votes as well. Independent candidate Danny McGinnis had 217 votes.


Democrat Larry Summers was re-elected in the Seventh District with 290 votes, while Democrat Kevin Robinson atook a seat on the commission with 280 votes.


In constable races, Democrat Chad Curtis defeated Republican Lee Plummer in the first district, 287 votes to 199.


Republican Chris Tramel took Second District constable seat with 345 votes, defeating Independent challengers Tony D. Lawson (159) and Jonathan Low (46).


In the third district, Independent Travis Bryant won with 301 votes over Independent Lou Ann Sanders, who took 139 votes.