By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Trump, Clinton take DeKalb


The winners of the presidential primary in DeKalb County today were Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton.


Unofficial numbers show that Trump took the Republican vote in the county with 1240 votes, winning all 15 precincts, while Ted Cruz received 600 votes. Marco Rubio took 344, Ben Carson got 175, and 88 ballots were cast for John Kasich


On the Democratic Primary ballot, Clinton won with 641 votes in DeKalb, taking all 15 precincts. Bernie Sanders took 286 votes in DeKalb, and Martin J. O’Malley received no votes.


Incumbent Assessor of Property Scott Cantrell was unopposed for re-nomination by his party in the Primary but he will be challenged by Republican Shannon A. Cantrell in the August General Election. Cantrell received 805 complimentary votes.


Democrat Jason C. Taylor was unopposed for First district Constable in the Primary, but he will square off against Republican Lee Plummer in August. Taylor took 82 complimentary votes.


Incumbent Democratic Constables Travis Bryant, third district (90 votes), Paul Cantrell, fourth district (133 votes), Mark Milam, fifth district (121 votes), Carl Lee Webb, sixth district (105 votes), and Johnny King, seventh district (85 votes), were unopposed in the primary and will be in August as well.


DeKalb saw 938 voters take advantage of early voting for the DeKalb County Democratic Primary and the Tennessee Presidential Preference Primaries. A total of 595 chose to vote in the Republican Primary, and 343 voted in the Democratic Primaries during early voting.